Advisement

Humanities Advisement Center

Humanities Advisement and Careers, in 1175 JFSB, is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays and graduation days, and Tuesdays from 10:45 a.m. to 12:00 noon when we are closed for University devotionals

Appointments are not required. You are welcome to walk-in and see an advisor as they are available, or you may make an appointment if you desire by calling us by phone at (801) 422-4789, clicking to the right under “Talk to an Advisor” and “Make an Appointment” or email at humanities-advisement@byu.edu

Advisors are assigned responsibility for specific majors; however, you may meet with any one of the advisors; they are all cross-trained. Cathryn Schofield takes care of our Linguistics and ELang, Philosophy and Humanities advisement. Paula Landon is over our English, English Teaching, and TESOL advisement, as well as Double Majors, if not a language. She is also over Transfer Credit advisement. Dave Waddell is our Career, Internship,  Resume Advisor and is over the American Studies and Spanish & Portuguese programs.  Sherami Jara is over all language programs in our college besides Spanish and Portuguese, as well as Double Majors with languages.

 

 

Department Undergraduate Advisement by Program

Linguistics BA & Linguistics Minor

Last name Advisor Office location Office phone # E-mail address
A-B Dan Dewey 4067 JFSB 422-6005 dan_dewey@byu.edu
C-D Dave Eddington 4041 JFSB 422-7452 eddington@byu.edu
E-G Jeff Parker 4051 JFSB 422-5353 jeff_parker@byu.edu
H-J Bill Eggington 4048 JFSB 422-3483 bill_eggington@byu.edu
K-M Dirk Elzinga (LAC) 4043 JFSB 422-2117 dirk_elzinga@byu.edu
N-Q Deryle Lonsdale 4039 JFSB 422-4067 lonz@byu.edu
R-S Janis Nuckolls 4055 JFSB 422-3448 janis_nuckolls@byu.edu
T-V Heather Sturman 4065 JFSB 422-2692 heather_willson@byu.edu
W-Z Chris Rogers 4047 JFSB 422-2692 chris_rogers@byu.edu

English Language BA

Last name Advisor Office location Office phone # E-mail address
A-F Don Chapman 4064B JFSB 422-8738 don_chapman@byu.edu
G-M Mark Davies 4059 JFSB 422-9168 mark_davies@byu.edu
N-S Cynthia Hallen 4073 JFSB 422-2020 cynthia_hallen@byu.edu
T-Z Dallin D. Oaks 4075 JFSB 422-6369 dallin_oaks@byu.edu

 

 

Editing Minor

Last name Advisor Office location Office phone # E-mail address
A-G Marvin Gardner 4045 JFSB 422-1253 marv_gardner@byu.edu
H-N Alan Manning* 4053 JFSB 422-2974 alan_manning@byu.edu
O-T Jacob Rawlins 4051 JFSB 422-2144 jacob_rawlins@byu.edu
U-Z Mel Thorne 4092 JKB 422-1719 mel_thorne@byu.edu

*Unavailable Fall 2016

 

TESOL Minor

Last Name Advisor’s Name Office Number Phone Number E-Mail Address
A-E Grant Eckstein 4071 JFSB 422-5946 grant_eckstein@byu.edu
F-J Norm Evans 4059 JFSB 422-2208 norm_evans@byu.edu
K-O Dee Gardner 4061 JFSB 422-1219 dee_gardner@byu.edu
P-T Lynn Henrichsen 4040 JFSB 422-2938 lynn_henrichsen@byu.edu
U-Z Mark Tanner 4063 JFSB 422-8154 mark_tanner@byu.edu