Linguistics BA

Linguistics

Linguistics
BA
Hours53 Credit Hours
MAPMajor Academic Plan

Program Requirements

requirement 1 Complete 1 course
Professionalization course:
requirement 2 Complete 1 course
Complete the following prerequisite course:
requirement 3 Complete 4 courses
Complete the following core courses:
requirement 6
Complete university course work (or the equivalent) to a 200-level or higher in any single foreign language including American Sign Language. (This requirement varies for Spanish. See the Humanities College Advisement Center.) The language for this requirement may be the same language used to satisfy the GE Foreign Language option, but note that the GE foreign language option may require more coursework than this requirement for the Linguistics major. For non-native speakers of English, the university TOEFL requirement satisfies this requirement for the Linguistics major. Students intending to pursue graduate studies in linguistics are strongly encouraged to study a non-Indo-European language.
requirement 7 Complete 1 option
Note 1: Courses taken in requirements 4 and 5 cannot double count for requirement 7.
Note 2: Subject to approval by the Linguistics Area Coordinator, students may take up to two courses taught outside of the department to satisfy elective requirements.
requirement 8 Complete 1 course
Complete the following capstone course:

 

Advisement

The following Linguistics and English Language faculty members serve as academic advisors for Linguistics and English Language students. Consult the chart below to determine which faculty member is your advisor.

Last name Advisor Office location Office phone # E-mail address
A-B Dan Dewey 4067 JFSB 422-6005 dan_dewey@byu.edu
C-D Dave Eddington 4041 JFSB 422-7452 eddington@byu.edu
E-G Jeff Parker 4051 JFSB 422-5353 jeff_parker@byu.edu
H-J Bill Eggington 4048 JFSB 422-3483 bill_eggington@byu.edu
K-M Dirk Elzinga (LAC) 4043 JFSB 422-2117 dirk_elzinga@byu.edu
N-Q Deryle Lonsdale 4039 JFSB 422-4067 lonz@byu.edu
R-S Janis Nuckolls 4055 JFSB 422-3448 janis_nuckolls@byu.edu
T-V Chris Rogers 4047 JFSB 422-2692 chris_rogers@byu.edu
W-Z Earl Brown 4052 JFSB 422-3970 earl_brown@byu.edu

(LAC) Linguistics Area Coordinator

Back to top