Editing

For more information and details on any internship position listed below, please contact Dr. Bay, the department internship coordinator.

On-campus
Internships on-campus are paid unless otherwise noted.

Bridges Magazine

Paid and unpaid positions

David M. Kennedy Center for International Studies

Cory Leonard – cory.leonard@byu.edu

210 HRCB; 801.422.2652


BYU Magazine

Paid positions

Publications & Graphics

218 UPB; 801.422.1963

Peter Gardner – peter_gardner@byu.edu


BYU Marriott School of Business

On-Campus Internships

http://oci.byu.edu


BYU Publications and Graphics

Entry-level editor internship; editing, proofreading, writing and source checking for campus-wide projects

Paid or for internship credit

Lena Primosch – 801-422-1119 – lena_primosch@byu.edu


BYU Studies

Paid and unpaid positions

Jennifer Hurlbut – 801.422.8658 – jennifer_hurlbut@byu.edu

Prefer students that have successfully taken ELang 350 and are enrolled in ELang 410R or 430R.


Center for Teaching and Learning

Course production specialist

ctl@byu.edu


Church History Department at BYU

Editing, source checking, proofreading, writing, and some research

Paid positions

Mary Jane Woodger – mjw5@byu.edu


Department of Computer Science

Unpaid position writing and editing, Internet Safety Project

801.422.3519


Faculty Center

Student assistant, editing center materials, including newsletter

4450 WSC; 801.422.7419


Faculty Publishing Service

4092 JKB

Suzy Bills – suzy_bills@byu.edu


College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Student editor and designer positions

Kimberly Jenkins – 801.422.4022


Independent Study

Course maintenance and development

Editing Job

Erin Wilder – 801.422.2868


Intercultural Outreach Publishing Team

273C HRCB; 801.422.3723


Intermountain Histories

Research, write and publish on Intermountain Histories website and app under your own name

Paid AND History elective credit internship

Brenden Rensink – 801-422-9181 – bwrensink@byu.edu


Mckay School of Education Editing web content, news articles, posters, Wikipedia editor, etc.

Cindy Glad – 801-422-1922 – cindy_glad@byu.edu


New World Archaeological Foundation

Mike Searcy – msearcy@byu.edu


OIT Application Development

Fred Hyatt – 801.422.2478 – fred.hyatt@byu.edu


Oral History Transcribing

Don Norton – nortondon17@gmail.com


Preprofessional Advisement Center Editing resumes, personal statements and letters of intent

Kris Tina Carlston – kris_tina_carlston@byu.edu

3328 WSC; 801.422.2318


Religious Studies Center

Editing interns at the RSC are mentored by a senior editor and help with proofreading, source checking, styling footnotes and bibliographies, and general editing

10–20 hours/week

167 HJB; 801.422.1526

Don Brugger – don_brugger@byu.edu


Western North American Naturalist

Peer-reviewed Academic Journal in the Biological Sciences

Janene Auger – wnan@byu.edu


 

Off-campus

Becket Religious Liberty Communications Summer internship

Washington, D.C.

Creating messaging and media on religious liberty

internships@becketlaw.org


Book of Mormon Central

Kirk Magleby – kirk@nuvek.com


Boostability

Paid editing positions

Orem, UT; 801-770-1890 ext. 4004


Cedar Fort

Editing position

2373 W 700 S Springville, UT; editorial@cedarfort.com

Heather Holm – 801.489.4084 – hholm@cedarfort.com


Christensen/Hymas Law Firm

A local law firm seeking writing interns in their marketing department


Covenant Communications, Inc.

info@covenant-lds.com


Creative Expansions, Inc.

Unpaid position

helene@womenworking.com


Deseret Book

Paid and unpaid positions 

Observe, learn, and participate as you follow the publishing process of a book—from first edits

to final proofreading to sending a completed book to press

Download this flyer for more information

Andrea Barker – 801.517.3383 – abarker@deseretbook.com


Dreamling Books


Dream Press

ben@thedreampress.com


eFileCabinet


EKR

Creative Writers: Two interns will be all-in for the creative writing. Write and rewrite for a good time.

Creative Writer and Editor: One intern will be needed to not only contribute to the creative writing, but also share their editing flair and expertise. This position is heavy on the writing, but we’d love to see you flaunt your editing skills.

User Experience Writer: One intern will be focusing on user experience, which means he/she will be working with the designers to come up with websites and designs that flow well with written content.

Email Austin to apply: austin@ekragency.com


Elevation Hospice

Elevation is trying to record the life histories of each hospice patient and is looking for editing interns that would be willing to edit life histories. Perfect for someone looking for a one credit internship for experience.

Tatum Frampton – tkframp@hotmail.com


Famifi Writing/editing position

Send a resume and a writing sample to Amberlee Lovell at alovell@deseretdigital.com


Future House Publishing

Emma Hoggan – emma@futurehousepublishing.com


Gear.com
Copywriting and editing internship Darren Eldredge – darren@gear.com – 801.368.9725


Haiti Health Initiative

Writer/Editor Experience & Print/Web Design Experience

HHI is a non-profit organization that seeks to improve the overall health and well-being of rural Haitians through primary health care, dental, public health, nutrition, and education.

To ask questions or to apply, contact Marc-Aurel Martial at 801-830-3043 or mmartial@HaitiHealthInitiative.org


Hope Squad


Imflash

Technical writing

Brett Haddon – behaddon@imflash.com


KLAS Enterprises, LLC

careers@klasresearch.com


LDS Living Magazine

Apply at deseretbook.applicantpro.com or email Andrea Barker (abarker@deseretbook.com) for more information.


More Good Foundation

Karen Merkley – kmerkley@moregoodfoundation.org


My Story Matters

Interns will help oversee the production of 500+ books from concept to completion for children in need.

Download this flyer for more information.

Apply at www.mystorymatters.org/become-an-intern

801-477-MSM2


Osmond Marketing

Editing, writing, and PR work as well as a white labeling service for agencies like Snapp Conner, Foxtail Marketing, Woodrow Studios, and Avalaunch Media. Emily Woll – emilyw@osmondmarketing.com


Park City Magazine and Salt Lake/ Park City Bride and Groom Magazine

Janet Jorgensen- j_jorgensen@hotmail.com


The Manuscript Doctor

Callie Stoker – thedoctor@themanuscriptdr.com


The Salt Lake Law Enforcement Journal

Janet Jorgensen – janet@janetjorgensen.com


Salt Lake Magazine

240 E. Morris Ave. Ste 350 
SLC, UT 84115

801.485.5100


Springville Museum of Art

Curatorial, Educational and Operations internship

Anne Totten – 801-491-5700 – atotten@springville.org


TribeHouse

Orem Innovation and online connection

Sarah Waugh – 801 857-3626 – sarahsponda30@yahoo.com


Utah Business Magazine

Elle Griffin – 801 568-0114 – egriffin@utahbusiness.com

90 South 400 West, Ste 650 Salt Lake City, UT 84101


Utah Style and Design Magazine; Utah Bride and Groom Magazine

Looking for interns for summer 2021

240 E Morris Ave Ste. 350, SLC, UT

Josh Peterson – 801.485.5100 – josh@utahstyleanddesign.com


Washington Seminar

Scott Dunaway – 801.422.3950 – scott_dunaway@byu.edu


Western Governors University

Geri Nicastro – gnicastro@wgu.edu


Wilford Woodruff Papers Foundation

Transcribe and verify Wilford Woodruff’s letters, journals, and autobiographies; locate his unpublished discourses; research his biographical information

contact@wilfordwoodruffpapers.org


ZipBooks Marketing

Editing intern

Email Jaren Nichols with resume and informal notes about your interests – 801.787.3817 – jaren@zipbooks.com